close
close

Will Draisaitl be suspended for his elbow in the Oilers-Panthers game?

The Edmonton Oilers are down 2-0 in the Stanley Cup Final, but that may not be their only loss to date.

During yesterday’s 4-1 road loss to the Florida Panthers in Game 2, Edmonton star Leon Draisaitl seemed to let his emotions out in the third quarter.

With 9:28 left in the third quarter, Draisaitl elbowed Florida captain Alexander Barkow in the face, causing him to ultimately leave the game and not return.

“This is not Oprah Winfrey show. My feelings don’t matter,” Panthers coach Paul Maurice said of the game, adding that “the league is considering everything” when it comes to a possible suspension.

Draisaitl, as expected, had a different opinion about the hit, for which he received a two-minute minor penalty.

“I don’t think it’s frustration. It was just a hit. I don’t think there’s anything dirty about it. Maybe I raised it a little. But certainly not with the intention of causing injury or anything like that,” said Daniel Nugent-Bowman of The Athletic.

If the league feels the need to further punish Draisaitl, news of a possible suspension or hearing from the NHL will likely emerge later today.

After opening the series in Florida, both teams will travel to Alberta. The third game will be played on Thursday night at Rogers Place in Edmonton.

Oilers-Panthers 2024 Stanley Cup Finals schedule

Game 3: Thursday, June 13, at Edmonton
Game 4: Saturday, June 15, at Edmonton
Game 5: Tuesday, June 18 at Florida*
Game 6: Friday, June 21 at Edmonton*
Game 7: Monday, June 24, at Florida*

*If it is necessary

All games in this series will be played at 5:00 PM PT, 6:00 PM MT and 8:00 PM ET.

    You may also like:

  • McDavid says he can’t wait to prove Oilers doubters wrong again